top of page

Sunday Smudge-day!

Now there are people who will say "I don't have time for all that..." to which I am one of those people. Time is at a premium in my house. But you learn that if you are properly motivated then you can get more done than you ever thought possible.


Today I cleaned my house, and wrote a blog post, drafted a page for my Coven website and then got a call that my D&D group was available and wanted to play. So with thirty minutes notice I had to get everything together to entertain six people. On top of that, I hadn't done any of the things that I promised myself that I was going to do, i.e. smudge my house and salt my threshold and light a candle to draw fresh energy in.


So I vacuumed and hurried through physically getting ready to have my gaming group over. Smudged three floors, swept the front porch, drew my salt line, and spread rice under my door mat to ensure prosperity. In all it took about ten minutes. I was able to make Chex mix and start spaghetti sauce cooking before my guests arrived.



In all I feel particularly accomplished, making this post now I plan on lighting my Sunday candle and enjoying a glass of wine!


For my daily candles I almost always default to using white. You can buy Shabbat Candles by the case (72 count), they are inexpensive, unscented, white, and burn for about two hours. Add to those benefits that the candles were manufactured with a spiritual intent and I am all over them.


Today well tonight rather I dress my Sunday candle with lemon essential oil and set it in my kitchen window with a simple invocation:


"I call to the light of the day, the Sun that warms the way. Bring with you the health, wealth, and cheer, bless my hearth as we hold you dear."



The small Hearth Altar in my kitchen window.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page