top of page

Manifesting Magick


Tarot Card "The Star", Manifestation Journal, Manifestation Box (Ruby on top), yellow candle (abundance energy), soapstone dish, bay leaf(s) 'food/offering' request written on leaves.

As witches we use the word Manifest incorrectly. That is that we have given it an alternative meaning within our own Jargon. The word Manifest means 'Reveal' or 'Make known' however in magick when we use the word Manifest we are in fact calling on creation or attraction energy. For those of you reading this, you might think 'What does it matter that we use the word incorrectly?' Well, there is a magick in the words we choose, the reason and definition of those words are programmed into our conscious and unconscious minds courtesy of twelve years spent in our core education and development. The power of a word is in our intent, and if your intent is the dictionary definition what you are asking the powers that be is to 'reveal a car/money/health.' Instead of returning, creating, or attracting those things into your life. If all you want is to become aware of the success and other fun things you already have, then keep right on manifesting. If you want to create or invite then find a different word (I have an epic rant about vocabularies so I will move on before I digress).


My manifestation box "Wish Box."

Manifestation Magick has become popular in recent years, we see it on Pinterest and on hundreds of Pagan and Witchy forums. You see instructions for boxes and jars all over the place. I want to change how you think about it.


You need to believe that 'your car..', 'renewed health', 'a baby', or 'the right job..' or 'reliable money' will come into your life. It is yours, it is out there, you just have to show it where you are and that you are ready for it. This goes beyond saying a few words and clipping a magazine picture to put in a box. But the box starts the energy in motion, it creates that rescue beacon, or energy anchor. You still need to demonstrate to the powers at large that you are willing to do what it takes to bring these things into your life. You will also need to continue to feed it energy, Manifesting Magick is long term spell-craft, it never shows you results overnight. Explanation: If you are working to manifest a baby you need a partner that wants the same thing, and if fertility is an issue talk to a doctor or agency, you need to open yourself up to the universe if you expect it to act on your behalf.


Manifestation Bottle "Servitor House" These are single purpose, long term manifestation spells, everything in the bottle acts as a focus to charge the spell and energy that you are looking to use. The paper sigil is placed at the bottom before herbs, brick dust, etc are added.

To begin you will need to select your medium, or container. I am extremely fond of organization, so things like boxes and jars appeal to me, however, as a caveat I fuss with my boxes so for magick of this nature I need something a little less attractive to my twitchy fingers. So I turn to something equally attractive, but something that I don't fuss with as much. The next logical item for me as it turns out is a Journal. I love keeping a Diary, but I am not drawn to read old diaries, at least not often. Though my second oldest brother prefers working with bottles.


As a bit of a disclaimer on this, I have a massive collection of items that I use in magick, larger than almost anyone I know, and that isn't bragging. My supply list includes a couple Tarot Decks that I will take cards out of to act as a symbolic representation of the spell that I am doing. Its how I use damaged decks or decks that have missing cards already (I take them camping and to festivals, or people give them to me because they know I use them). Boxes, oils, herbs, fetishes... I buy bottles and jars that attract me, and have even collected statuary from second hand stores and garage sales, and as the ONLY grand-daughter I inherited a bunch of jewelry. I am a third or fourth generation Witch, and a Taurus, so if it comes to me, I keep it, until I meet the person that needs it more, or use it. If I mention using something and you don't have it, you don't need to rush out and buy it, use what works for you and leave the rest behind.


Manifesting via a Journal is a lot of fun, like keeping a scrap book. First you need to buy a journal, pocket size is perfect. This kind of notebook is ideal and if you are crafty you can make it yourself with a sheet of card-stock, twelve sheets of non-ruled paper and a quality stapler. Each notebook can be progress towards manifesting a single object goal, or you can get a regular journal and put everything you need in its pages.


The idea behind Manifestation is sympathetic magick. What happens on the Microcosm effects the Macrocosm, or produce in miniature what you want to see happen in life. What you are doing is creating the Microcosm, or small space, it can be a box, a jar, or in my case a book, as a book lover this speaks to me as the best representation of how you can contain a world in miniature.


As with all things to be used in spell work, the first step should always be to spiritually cleanse all the components, and consecrate it to the task, and then you can get started.


From Horoscope.com

I start by creating or selecting a Sigil (magick symbol) that encompasses my intent, like the image to the left, I will sometimes scour the internet, or I may create my own. Though my artistic ability is significantly limited.


Once I have my sigil, I copy it to the cover of my journal. To do this I will print it out and use an exact-o knife to lightly create a thin slice through the inked area, then I place it over the cover and draw over it with a sharpie. This gives me a sort of dotted line impression of the image, which I then go over with a paint pen in the appropriate color/metallic shade. I usually opt for using copper. This sigil channels the intent behind the Journal's contents, the next step is to charge the Journal. Charging it is infusing it with energy, think of this like a cone of power, drum up energy into your Manifestation through a method of your choosing, and then you bind it to its task. I bind it by naming it, or inscribing it with a single word in the Witches Rune that acts as its directive, much like creating a servitor (a process I use in many magick tools, its something my family has done going back as long as I have been alive, and will discuss later if you are interested.) This naming/binding should come with a visualization for the kind of spirit you have working with you in bringing your desires to reality. Dogs and Ferrets work well for this kind of work. I like to use the visage of a Raccoon. This Name or Word of Power becomes the command to send forth your energy and work on bringing your Needs to reality. Inside the cover I will usually glue a Tarot Card or a Photocopy of a Tarot Card, The Star is my favorite for this kind of work.


In Filling your Manifestation Journal, each page is one thing you want to bring into your life, you might glue a check you have written to yourself, monopoly money, the written description of all your health issues resolving, a picture of a baby, the picture of a car, picture of a house. The copy of a job listing for your desired position, or a vacation brochure cover. I found a four-leaf clover and pressed it inside my journal. You don't need to fill it all at once, you can take your time. Just don't forget to feed the spell, I recommend leaving the journal on your altar and lighting incense or burning herbs regularly with intent.


When the journal has fulfilled its purpose you release all the energy and the binding by destroying the journal, It makes for a great burnt offering at an Esbat.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page